Take a Load Off – Day 1

I work for a company that promotes active lifestyles – running, biking, swimming, triathlons, marathons, etc.  They want all employees to be healthy and happy and ACTIVE!

Well, I’m not active. At all. In fact, I’m a champion couch potato.

But this couch potato lifestyle has caused me to gain 50 lbs over the past 3 years, and it’s time to do something about that.

As someone who has always been able to eat what she wants whenever she wants just because she wants, and not think twice about it, the idea of restricting my intake is difficult. Let’s face it, 40 years is a long time for a behavior to become a habit.

But as someone who has also always been a size 2, becoming a size 12 is like a bad dream that I can’t wake up from. I hate looking at myself in the mirror, I refuse to allow myself to be photographed, I’ve stopped going out with friends…all out of embarrassment with my appearance.

Coincidentally, my company has just launched a 14-week weight-loss program for employees. They call it Take a Load Off (TALO) and the handbook for it describes it as follows:

This exciting program is geared around educating healthy ways of eating that are pleasurable. In TALO we will be focusing on what you can have, not what you can’t have, and providing you with the tools necessary to make the best choices possible…You will see yourself and food in a new light and weight loss will be a natural result of making small, gradual changes to your daily routine; one in which energy levels will rise, happiness will increase and pounds will literally start to disappear.

We have to keep a food journal, exercise a minimum of 2 times a week through our at-work “functional strength training” classes, meet weekly for weigh-ins and weekly goals/assignments.

I am not excited about starting this program. I should be; it’s a great opportunity for me to lose the 55 lbs I want to rid myself of, and do it for free. But I’m scared. I’m scared of failure.

So as another way of keeping myself accountable for my successes or failures in these 14 weeks, I’ll be writing here about the journey.  Day 1, and I’m currently 5’3″ tall and 165.6 lbs. I want to be back down to 110 lbs. It might take longer than 14 weeks to lose that much weight, but I want to be well on the way towards it and need to make this new lifestyle a habit.

Please wish me luck. I’ll need it.

This entry was posted in Wellness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take a Load Off – Day 1

  1. Audra says:

    Good for you Kelly! You can do it!!!

What do you think?

