Taking a Load Off, pt 2: Food

So, what have I *actually* been doing in order to lose any weight, since I’m not willing to walk into a gym?

A LOT!!

What I consider the most important are the changes I’ve made in my diet. For 40 years, I’ve been eating whatever I want whenever I want, and this had to change. So my new rules were as follows:

 

  • No caffeine.
  • No juice (too much sugar, no nutritional value).
  • Water.
  • No red meat.
  • No fast food. No delivery.
  • Read all labels. I should know what every ingredient is, and I don’t mean in a scientific way. Eat nothing that was created in a lab. Use whatever is natural. Butter instead of margarine or Smart Balance or any other random butter substitute, just use in moderation.
  • Water.
  • Organic whenever possible. Locally grown whenever possible. I suggest looking into CSA’s (community sourced agriculture). It’s a farm that you essentially buy a share of, and they deliver produce to you either weekly or biweekly. Farmer’s markets are also good.
  • Water.
  • One dessert/treat per day. Skinny Cow ice cream was recommended in the TALO group, and I have to say they are FABULOUS!! Ice cream sandwiches that are 100 calories (+/-) each. They have mint ice cream, cookies and cream, as well as the standard vanilla and chocolate.
  • No “whites.” No white rice, pasta, bread. I started using quinoa, assorted colors of rice, whole wheat pasta.
  • Water.

Did I mention water? It’s all I drink these days. Which is really weird, because, as I’ve been known to say, the only water I used to drink was whatever I accidentally swallowed when I was brushing my teeth. I was drinking upwards of 6 coffees/sodas per day. Weekends could be as many as 12 per day.

How did I eliminate this much coffee and soda?  SLOWLY. I’ve tried to give up caffeine cold turkey in the past and was always in bed for days with a withdrawal headache. I didn’t want to go through that again. So I started by allowing myself 1 coffee in the morning and 1 soda in the afternoon/with lunch. Other than that, I had to drink water.

Eventually I noticed that I wasn’t reaching for the sodas in the afternoon anymore. So I decided to eliminate them altogether. Now I was drinking coffee in the morning and water the rest of the day. I stopped keeping coffee in my house so it wasn’t available to me on the weekends. One Saturday I realized that I hadn’t had my coffee that morning and I was fine. I decided to wait it out and see if I got a headache. Sunday morning I was still fine, and decided not to have coffee that morning either. By Sunday night I was still fine, so I decided that was it, no more caffeine. But don’t be mistaken, this entire process took almost 2 months. It was VERY gradual.

TALO is all about baby steps, and I was taking them one very small step at a time.

This entry was posted in Wellness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a Load Off, pt 2: Food

  1. crisisinca says:

    Yes, and as someone has reminded me, it took 3 years for me to accumulate these additional 50 lbs. They’re not going to come off overnight. Baby steps are OK, as long as I keep moving in the right direction.

What do you think?

