Be Positive!!

Sooooo, it’s been brought to my attention that this blog has a very optimistic and hopeful tone to it. This seems in stark contrast to the words that come out of my mouth every day, and the sarcastic tone with which they’re spoken.

This particular post is to set the record straight about all of these changes I’m going through right now. Some days it really sucks, and some days are almost unbearable. But who wants to read about that? I don’t want to bitch and moan in all of my posts, but maybe I’ve been sugar coating things a little bit.

Today I ran my first 5K ever. Training for this event has been the bane of my existence for the past 8 weeks. I was hoping that once I got through it I would feel so proud of myself that all the hell would be worth it. In fact, I even registered for another 5K in January, one that I could run with one of my dogs.

Unfortunately, the event was a train wreck.  From the registration to the route, it all seemed very disorganized. To make matters worse, this was part of a larger event where a triathlon was also happening. Us 5K-ers were an afterthought, second class citizens in this endurance sports world.

I didn’t feel any more proud of myself for having done it than I had before it started. I was just glad it was over. And I can pretty confidently say that I’m never doing another one. Even the one in January that I’ve already registered for  is going to have to be considered a donation to the cause, because I’m not going through all that work to train again and then be disappointed once again with the event itself.

Luckily, my office just started offering Zumba classes at lunch on Fridays. I’m trying to see if we can do it more often, like 2 – 3 days a week. I LOVE Zumba!! I love to dance, so Zumba is perfect for me. It’s like a combination of aerobics, hip hop, and Latin dance. The music is exactly what you’d hear in the clubs right now. I can get my boogie on!

And on my final positive note for the night, I’m down to 150 lbs. 15 lbs gone, 30 – 35 more to go!

This entry was posted in Wellness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

